Pokémon Direct on the Pokémon 20th Anniversary

Hype up for the five minutes of the Pokémon Direct we’re to get.

We’re just days away from the 27th of February, the 20th anniversary of Pokémon, and hype levels have been increasing for many thanks to the re-release of Pokémon Red, Blue and Yellow on the same day. Suddenly there’s another reason to hype however – a Nintendo Direct has just been announced for the 26th/27th, and it’s exclusively about Pokémon – a Pokémon Direct!

It will be held this Friday 26th at 15:00 UTC/16:00 CET/10:00 EST/07:00 PDT, or for Australians who live in the future, Saturday 27th at 02:00 AEDT. Fittingly, this Direct occurs in Japan right on the anniversary, or the 27th, 00:00 JST.

What will the content be? We just don’t know, beyond that it will (obviously) be Pokémon themed. Maybe it’d just be a tribute to the long history of Pokémon, and give some spotlight to the Pokémon Red, Blue and Yellow re-release, along with Pokkén next month. But such an announcement will surely get people excited about information on a new game potentially appearing as well, especially as previous Pokémon Directs talked about new games, like Pokémon X&Y. What we do know is that the Direct will last 5 minutes. That’s not very long at all for a Direct.

What are your expectations, and will you watch the Direct regardless of what time it may begin for you?

Source: Nintendo and
Nintendo Direct pages:
North America